The Gypsy Muse – Author Rachel Kenley

September 12, 2011

Monday Writers’ Prompt – I think I forgot something

Filed under: Monday Writer's Prompts — authorrachelkenley @ 3:42 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Deadlines, family, hurricanes, end of summer…. I could keep the list going of the things that kept me from my daily blogging routine.  Instead – I’m going to use it (’cause that’s what writers do with everything, isn’t it?) as my writing prompt for the day

What is something your character might/could forget that would cause a problem?  A meeting?  A birthday?  A date?  How does the forgetting change them or their situation?

Or… start a story with someone forgetting something important go from there.  Do they not care at all?  Are they terribly upset?  Do they miss out on something important because of their mistake?

For my current heroine, she actually needs to forget something.  She needs to forget to live her life by rigid lists.  Do you have a character who would benefit from forgetting?

And in the mean time, I hope you remember everything you are supposed to today and this week!

2 Comments »

  1. your leaving the message that you were blogging on forgetting lead me in. I actually had made a note to come back and then realized I probably would forget.

    My life is lived in forgetfulness. My husband has a form of Alzheimer’s and since I am his full time sleep deprived caregiver, it is super easy to forget. I wrote a short story entitled Lewy vs Al for adults and There’s Something Strange… for the 7-12 crowd which is in my series of The Chronicles of The K-9 Boys and Girls on Locus Street.

    I probably will have stories in the future with forgetting something in them. Forgiveness is a form of forgetting. I have a sister in law that finally has relaxed some of her rigidity. I known her for almost fifty years so sometimes these traits are a locked in part of the personality. I need to file this prompt away for another day. Today is taking one of my stories and making it into a screen play [for a contest]. Got to go do it before I forget…glad you’re back to blogging.

    Comment by Paula Shene — September 12, 2011 @ 4:28 pm | Reply

  2. Forgetting…what haven’t I forgotten over the years? I’ve even forgotten I had to pick my daughter up in her classroom. I’d be in the library, chatting, wondering why she hadn’t come down yet.

    I may be turning into my Mother-in-Law!

    No forgetting in this novel, but I’ll see if it fits, because forgetting something is such a human trait – we all do it, and more often than we might like to admit.

    Glad to see you’re back to blogging, you might inspire me to dust off the old blog as well.

    Comment by Lisa — September 13, 2011 @ 11:48 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

