The Gypsy Muse – Author Rachel Kenley

July 14, 2011

Thursday Favorite Things – The Movies

Filed under: Thursday Favorite Things — authorrachelkenley @ 12:48 pm
Tags: , , , ,

As has been our tradition for several years, my friend, and fellow writer, Jeffrey C. Pettengill, and I will attend the midnight showing of the new Harry Potter film tonight.  We look forward to these each time they are released (although not the day after during which I am ridiculously tired).   There’s something about being one of the first to see a movie – along with several thousand other people. Still, it’s fun to be there with all the fans, some dressed up some not.

I love going to the movies.  Heck, I love movies period.  I watch them on cable, on hulu, on demand, and on dvd/blueray.  Give me a good story and great characters and I’ll give you two hours or more of my life.  Mostly… it’s the great characters, which isn’t surprising since as a writer, that draw me in. 

I want to see someone or more than one character redeemed.  Tim Allen’s character in “Galaxy Quest”, Jude Law’s character in “Gattaca”.  I want someone to be changed, like Rose in “Titantic” or Red in “Shawshank Redemption”.  I want them to go on an emotional – and occassionally physical – journey such as Dorothy in “The Wizard of Oz” and Luke Skywalker in his “Star Wars” trilogy.  I want to be carried along with them.

And if I can be inspired?  So much the better.

What movies do you lose yourself in?

1 Comment »

  1. I lose myself more in TV shows than I do movies; I like the continuing stories. It’s like getting to see a book chapter by chapter. As far as movies though, I love watching foreign and indie films. Especially in Mandarin or Korean! Those are usually pretty good! I like the feel-good girl movies too, like Sex and the City. Strong female leads always get me connected to a story. 🙂

    Comment by nerdywordyjana — July 14, 2011 @ 3:52 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

