The Gypsy Muse – Author Rachel Kenley

July 2, 2011

Friday Bedside Book Review – American Gods

Filed under: Friday Bedside Book Review — authorrachelkenley @ 8:14 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Okay… it’s Saturday, but I was so close to the end of the book I had to finish it and write about American Gods, by Neil Gaiman.  The novel, deservedly, won both the Hugo and Nebula awards.  It is wonderful.

For the most part, we follow Shadow, a man recently released from a three year stint in prison who is expecting to return to the wife and job he left behind.  When she is killed his plans are up in the air, un

This is not a fast read, but it is worth every minute of it.  It was referred to me by my friend and fellow writer, Jeffrey C. Pettengill, who listened to the audio version and I am very glad I took his recommendation. Old and new gods are warring for survival and every mythos seems to represented either as important characters or in glimpses and gatherings. I loved the characters, the pace and, perhaps most importantly, the vision Mr. Gaiman was trying – successfully – to bring to the readers of the world we live in and whether it is even possible to believe anymore.

Gaiman is currently on tour celebrating the 10th anniversary of the publication of this novel and HBO is in the process of creating a three year miniseries based on the book.  In a recent interview  with collider.com the author said.  “One of the things I’m concerned about is that I really want to make sure the races of all the characters are kept. I want to keep the racial mix in American Gods the same. And, I want to make it faithful, but also would like it to have a few surprises for people who read the book.”

It would be a delight to see this book come to life.  In the meantime, pick it up now, even if you are in the middle of reading something else, so when you are at a loss for what to read, you know you have something truly worthwhile waiting for you.

Have you already read the book?  Let me know what you thought?

2 Comments »

  1. American Gods is SUCH a good book, one of my favorites. It’s one I find myself going to back to every few years, and every time I read it again I get something new out of it. After the first time, sure, you know how it’s going to end, but then you can focus on all the little details you might have accidentally skipped over. And in this particular book, everything is a detail.

    I really hope HBO does it justice!!

    Comment by redhead — July 3, 2011 @ 3:31 pm | Reply

    • I totally agree. I found myself going back to earlier scenes after something new was revealed. I’d never thought about what it might be like to read again in the future. I’m definitely going to consider it. And the book is on the keeper shelf.

      Thanks for your comment!

      Comment by authorrachelkenley — July 7, 2011 @ 2:00 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

