The Gypsy Muse – Author Rachel Kenley

June 21, 2011

Tuesday Tell All – Be Honest With Yourself

Filed under: Tuesday Tell All — authorrachelkenley @ 1:55 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I am working on one book I have under contract (yay!) and another that is part of a multi author series.  The one under contract has an August 1st delivery date and needs to be a minimum of 50,000 words.  The second, will be around 27,000 words and I had planned to turn it in by July 1st.  This was before the other book was contracted.

So there I was, trying to find a balance to get both books done. And driving myself crazy in the process.

Worse, when I was honest with myself, I knew that if I tried to keep both of these deadlines, I was not going to turn my best work for either project.  It’s been a challenge for me in the past for when Ihave a picture in my head of how things should go, and then it turns out to be improbable. It’s hard to let it go it, reorganize, and re-evaluate.  But that’s what I did.

Now, my writing time is focused on the contracted book which will get in by the deadline (which will make my publisher happy) and I’ve set a new goal of submitting the shorter work by September 1st.  Both books deserve my best efforts as do my editors and readers. 

Sometimes it’s best to be honest with yourself on what you can – or can’t – accomplish and then replan accordingly.

Ever ben in a similar situation?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

