The Gypsy Muse – Author Rachel Kenley

April 26, 2011

Tuesday Tell All – Fewer Excuses

Usually when I visit family or am on any sort of vacation, I let discipline slide.  This past week, however, I embraced the fact that I didn’t need to prepare daily lessons for my sons’ homeschooling and focused on my own to-do list.

And what do you know – I got 500 words every day, blogged most every day of the week, and moved forward in some online classes I’m taking.

So much for thinking I can’t work when I’m at my parent’s house. 

It’s a little like what happens during NANOWRIMO.  I discover I can write at night, write every day, hit a high word count, plow through a first draft without self editing and criticism… It’s amazing what I learn and remember that month.

In looking at when I want to have this manuscript done (by or before the end of May), I need to jump my daily word count from 500 to at least 750, but thanks to the discipline of the last few weeks, I am feeling good about my ability to do that.

Nothing like discipline combined with success to keep you motivated.

What’s working for you?  Could you use help?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

