The Gypsy Muse – Author Rachel Kenley

April 13, 2011

Wednesday Wanderings – A real stationery store

Filed under: Uncategorized — authorrachelkenley @ 3:05 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Like many writers, I love office supplies.  Going into Staples makes my heart beat faster. It’s like when my sons go into sporting good stores.  I know what I’m there to buy, but I want to look at everything and I’m almost always keeping a mental list of what I would pick up if I had an unlimited budget.  When I get to the front with my purchases and they ask “Did you find everything you wanted?” I always want to say”Yes, and way too much more.”

As wonderful as these big superstores are, however, they have been the end of the smaller mom & pop stationery stores that I remember from when I was a kid.  There is one that I know remains, The Quill and Press in Acton MA.  Here great pens and papers are side by side with cards, high end stationery, and the best colors of file folders available individually.  Half the store is traditional office supplies, the other is part card store part card store.  And then downstairs is artists supplies.  It’s a paper heaven.

A view inside

Yes, I go to staples a lot – it’s more convenient and generally has better prices.  But when I want to spend an hour or so really browsing – touching, holding and imagining – then places like The Quill and Press are a true haven.

  • Hours: Mon – Fri, 9am – 7pm; Sat, 9am – 5pm; Sun, noon – 5:30pm
  • Handicap Accessible: Shop is wheel chair accessible
  • Founding Date: 1970
  • Payments accepted: American Express, Cash, Debit Card, Discover, MasterCard, Personal Check, Visa
  • Products: gifts, party goods, pens, art supplies, frames, rubber stamps, inks, unique stationery and cards.
  • Services: Gift certificates, Gift wrapping, Shipping
  • ATM: No
  • Public restrooms: Yes
  • Parking: Free lot
  • Advertisements

    Leave a Comment »

    No comments yet.

    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    Leave a Reply

        Blog at WordPress.com.

