The Gypsy Muse – Author Rachel Kenley

March 29, 2011

Tuesday Tell All – Rolling Along

There’s something wonderful about  getting a little done every day (although why I can’t seem to apply this knowledge to the process of getting to a healthy weight is beyond me).  My goal has been to write at least 500 new words on GUARDED HEART each day, and I have.  *POOF* the manuscript is more than 2,500 words longer.

Added to that are the words I wrote this weekend on my writers group retreat, and the book has a nice solid foundation to keep me moving forward.

There are two tools I  credit with being able to move a book forward.  One, is Debra Dixon’s book GOAL MOTIVATION CONFLICT.  This book is possibly the best $20 I’ve every spent on my career. These are three must haves for your main characters, and Debra shows you how to develop then, use them, and  know if you have enough to write a fully fleshed out novel.  Sometimes I fill out my GMC charts before I start the book, other times I start writing and then go back to see if I know the answers to chart.  Either way – I dont finish without it.  In addition, when I edit, I make sure every scene is related to the hero or the heroine’s GMC.  Otherwise – the scene is tossed.

My other “mentor” is Holly Lisle (www.hollylisle.com). Holly gives new meaning to “paying it forward” with all she’s learned and discovered about writing and the writing process.  From her mini-plot class I use the idea of making a list of “candy bar” scenes for my hero and heroine.  These are those yummy scenes you can’t wait to write.  As the list builds I can start to see the best parts of the novel taking shape and come up with ideas for how to get to each of those scenes.  It’s very helpful.

Wishing you all a great writing week.  What techniques and devices have you learned that work for you?

1 Comment »

  1. I have a 10:30 appointment for a writing sprint with some women in my mystery class. Monday – Saturday, we get together at about 10:15 (11:15 on Saturday), chat for 15 minutes and then write for 30. I write somewhere between 750 and 900 words in those 30 minutes and it gets me going to reach the rest of my wordcount goal for the day. Some days we do one or two more sprints as well. Hitting my 2or 3K goal for the day is much easier that way.

    I’ll be at 30k by Sunday, too. This is good because I start writing the steampunk novel in mid-April and I want both first drafts to be done before the Bar Mitzvah in June.

    It’s a good thing I’ve got the Flying Fingers of Typing Doom ™!

    Comment by Lisa Bouchard — March 29, 2011 @ 4:48 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

