The Gypsy Muse – Author Rachel Kenley

February 16, 2011

Wednesday Wanderings – A Novel Cafe – Tewksbury, MA

Filed under: Wednesday Wanderings — authorrachelkenley @ 2:05 pm
Tags: , ,

The title of this blog is The Gypsy Muse is for several reasons.  First, I find that inspiration comes to me from so many places and in so many ways.  A phrase on the radio, a commerical, a house on a street I’ve never been on before.  I have a stack of paper with notes on each page from ideas I jotted down in my car.  I have another stack from my nightstand drawer. 

The second reason is that as I writer, I like to work in different places.  I know other writers who are hardly productive outside of their normal writing spaces, but as much as I love the writing room I have in my home (and more about that another time) I find being in other places and spaces not only fun but almost necessary at times.  I need to get out of my “usual” and into something a new to get my Muse flowing and dancing again.

Many of the places I’ll blog about on Wednesday are locations I love going to – or even hope to go to – and some will be websites that draw me back over and over whether for research of pleasure.

A Novel Cafe

In the fall of 2010 the Merrimack Valley got a great new place for writers to visit.  A Novel Cafe on Rte 38 in Tewksbury is half independent book store and half full cafe with tables of various sizes, big couches and a fire place.  I spent over three hours writing there in November during Nanowrimo.  I purchased coffee and was left alone to enjoy the space, my drink, and my manuscript.  As a future Municipal Liason for Nanowrimo, I plan to schedule lots of events there over the course of next November.

Look at the great space to relax and write!

Any booklover – and bookstore lover – knows two things about independent bookstores.  They are wonderful places to visit and risky business ventures. I hope the word continues to get out about A Novel Cafe and this wonderful place to wander, shop and write is successful for a long time to come.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

